16 Highlights of Faculty in 2016

Posted On December 5, 2016 by Andrea Judy and Jenifer Shockley
Categories Features

Robinson’s internationally recognized faculty are not only experts in their fields, but also are prolific authors, distinguished researchers, and award-winning leaders. As we draw to the end of 2016, we celebrate 16 of our faculty highlights from 2016 (and the many more we simply couldn’t fit).

  1. V. Kumar Receives Distinguished Scholar Award

    V. Kumar, Regents’ Professor and executive director of the Center for Excellence in Brand & Customer Management, received the 2016 Society for Marketing Advances (SMA) Distinguished Scholar Award at the organization’s annual conference.

  2. Faye Borthick Receives Outstanding Education Case Award

    Faye Borthick, professor of accountancy, received the Outstanding Education Case Award sponsored by the Institute of Management Accountants at the AIS Section 2016 Midyear Meeting for her credit score case. The title for the case was “Building skills in data analytics: Bridging the gap between spreadsheet modeling and database querying.”

  3. Jay O’Toole Recognized for $2 Million Fund for Education

    Assistant professor of managerial sciences, Jay O’Toole, who began his career in the Mississippi Delta with Teach for America, leaves a lasting legacy of his experience through the Corps Member Education Fund, which he founded in 2004. The fund raises money to bring innovative instructional ideas to life, and in just over a decade has reached close to $2 million dollars and funded nearly 300 Teach for America programs.

  4. Songqi Liu Wins Scholarly Achievement Award

    Songqi Liu, assistant professor of managerial sciences, won the annual William A. Owens Scholarly Achievement Award given by the Society for Industrial-Organizational Psychology (SIOP) for the publication in a refereed journal judged to have the highest potential to significantly impact the field of industrial-organizational psychology.

  5. Likoebe Maruping Receives National Science Foundation Grant

    Likoebe M. Maruping, associate professor of computer information systems, was awarded a grant from the National Science Foundation to lead a half-day doctoral consortium for students in the area of communications and information systems.

  6. Pam Ellen Chosen as Marketing Publication Editor

    The American Marketing Association (AMA) and the Journal of Public Policy & Marketing (JPP&M) Editor Search Committee named Pam Scholder Ellen, associate professor of marketing, as an editor of the Journal of Public Policy & Marketing.

  7. Rajeev Dhawan Recognized for Home Price Forecasting Accuracy

    Rajeev Dhawan, director of the Economic Forecasting Center, received the Pulsenomics 2015 Crystal Ball Award for forecasting accuracy in the quarterly Zillow Home Price Expectations Survey. Dhawan also was recognized for outstanding consistency. This is the second time the forecaster has received the Pulsenomics Crystal Ball Award; he also won it in 2013.

  8. Lars Mathiassen Receives Honorary Doctorate

    Lars Mathiassen, Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar and professor of Computer Information Systems and co-founder of the Center for Process Innovation (CEPRIN), was awarded an honorary doctorate at Umeå University, Sweden. This is his second honorary doctorate, as he previously was awarded an honorary doctorate in science by Copenhagen University in 2011.

  9. Debby Cannon Among Atlanta Hospitality Leaders

    Once again, the Atlanta Business Chronicle has named Debby Cannon, director of the Cecil B. Day School of Hospitality Administration, to its Who’s Who list of the top 100 leaders in the hospitality industry. Cannon is a perennial on the list leading one of the top hospitality programs worldwide according to a recent CEOWORLD magazine ranking.

  10. Vikas Agarwal Wins Best Paper

    Vikas Agarwal, the H. Talmage Dobbs, Jr. Chair of Finance, was recognized at the ISB Conference, hosted by the Centre for Analytical Finance, for his paper, “Mutual fund transparency and corporate myopia,” coauthored with Rahul Vashishtha and Mohan Venkatachalam.

  11. Charlotte Alexander, Ryan Grelecki and Ramsi Woodcock Honored at ALSB Awards

    Robinson College faculty repeatedly were called to the podium to receive awards at the annual meeting of the Academy of Business in Legal Studies. Assistant Professor Charlotte Alexander received the Distinguished Early Career Faculty Award, as well as the Jackson Lewis LLP Distinguished Law Employment Paper and Distinguished Proceedings Paper awards. Clinical Assistant Professor Ryan Grelecki won the Charles Hewitt Master Teacher Award, and Assistant Professor Ramsi Woodcock was named Outstanding American Business Law Journal Reviewer.

  12. The Wall Street Journal and Financial Times Publish Chad Hartnell’s Leadership Research

    After being published by Georgia State University, assistant professor of managerial sciences Chad Hartnell’s research on how differences in CEO leadership style and company culture actually improve firm performance was picked up by The Wall Street Journal and Financial Times.

  13. Karen Loch Heads World Trade Center – Atlanta

    Karen Loch, professor of international business, was voted president for the World Trade Center – Atlanta, which aids Atlanta-area organizations in overcoming the hurdles of doing global business by bringing international business, including tourism, to the Southeast.

  14. Alejandro Del Valle Analyzes Extreme Weather Events

    Alejandro Del Valle, assistant professor of risk management and insurance, received a contract from the World Bank to understand and analyze the impact of extreme weather events in developing economies.

  15. William Custer Interviewed in USA Today

    William Custer, director of the Center for Health Services Research, was interviewed by USA Today for a story about how UnitedHealthcare quietly introduced an independent subsidiary that offers unlimited free doctor visits and 24/7 access by phone.

  16. Conrad Ciccotello Named TIAA Institute Fellow

    Conrad Ciccotello, chair and associate professor of risk management and insurance, has been named a fellow of the Teachers Insurance and Annuity Association of America (TIAA). Membership in the Fellows Program is by invitation and limited to senior college and university leaders and esteemed scholars with research interests related to lifelong financial security and the business of higher education.